Girl scout cookie reviews

Girl Scout Cookies Strain

Indica Dominant Hybrid -60% Indica / 40% Sativa

THC: 28%, CBD: 1%, CBN: 1%

Girl Scout Cookies is an indica-dominant hybrid with a strong sativa component (40:60 sativa/indica ratio). This strain can reach THC levels of up to 28%, meaning it’s one of the most potent strains available to medical marijuana patients. This strain provides the best aspects of both sativa and indica, and the high is powerful, happy, and euphoric, but with couch-lock body effects and feelings of lethargy. Girl Scout Cookies tastes sweet and earthy, and it smells much the same. It’s most effective at treating anxiety, stress, and depression, though it’s also good for appetite. Dry mouth is the only likely adverse effect, though others are possible. This strain began as a crossbreed of OG Kush and a near-even hybrid; (Durban Poison X F1). Girl Scout Cookies first appeared in California and is now one of the most popular strains in North America, where sells best on the West Coast and in Michigan. The high lasts for hours, making Girl Scout Cookies a good deal in most places. It can be difficult to grow, but it’s fast becoming a staple among home cultivators. Girl Scout Cookies is an indica-dominant hybrid with a strong sativa component (40:60 sativa/indica ratio). This strain can reach THC levels of up to 28%, meaning it’s one of the most potent strains available to medical marijuana patients. This strain provides the best aspects of both sativa and indica, and the high is powerful, happy, and euphoric, but with couch-lock body effects and feelings of lethargy. Girl Scout Cookies tastes sweet and earthy, and it smells much the same. It’s most effective at treating anxiety, stress, and depression, though it’s also good for appetite. Dry mouth is the only likely adverse effect, though others are possible. This strain began as a crossbreed of OG Kush and a near-even hybrid; (Durban Poison X F1). Girl Scout Cookies first appeared… Girl Scout Cookies is an indica-dominant hybrid with a strong sativa component (40:60 sativa/indica ratio). This strain can reach THC levels of up to 28%, meaning it’s one of the most potent strains available to medical marijuana patients. This strain provides the best aspects of both sativa and indica, and the high is powerful, happy, and euphoric, but with couch-lock body effects and feelings of lethargy. Girl Scout Cookies tastes sweet and earthy, and it smells much the same. It’s most effective at treating anxiety, stress, and depression, though it’s also good for appetite. Dry mouth is the only likely adverse effect, though others are possible. This strain began as a crossbreed of OG Kush and a near-even hybrid; (Durban Poison X F1). Girl Scout Cookies first appeared in California and is now one of the most popular strains in North America, where sells best on the West Coast and in Michigan. The high lasts for hours, making Girl Scout Cookies a good deal in most places. It can be difficult to grow, but it’s fast becoming a staple among home cultivators.

Girl Scout Cookies Strain (2020 Update)

  • Overview
  • Photos 0

Named after the ever-famous cookies, this dessert-like strain holds true to its name and tastes just like the sweet and minty treats sold by Girl Scouts. It has won multiple awards for its delicious and tantalizing aroma, as well as its calming and soothing effects. Flavors Cookies (Girl Scout Cookies)
Earthy
Herb Common usage Chronic pain
Depression
Stress Effects Energy
Euphoria
Relaxation Growing info Flowering period is approximately 9-10 weeks, best grown indoors

*All information on this website is for general informational purposes only and is not intended or implied to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.

Top 100 Strains 8 Tips for Growing Girl Scout Cookies (GSC) Cannabis: The Practical Guide

Super tips to grow this awesome strain

THC 17% CBD 0.09% Sativa 40% Indica 60%

Winning multiple Cannabis Cup awards for its almost alien-like supreme quality, Girl Scout Cookies (GSC) has been a stoner-favorite for decades, attracting the likes of those who want to consume this amazing weed because of its aromatic, entrancing and earthy aroma. Its sweet, yet slightly minty flavor, reminds those who have tried this weed of the addicting Girl Scout Cookies they grew up consuming and loving.

Since medical marijuana has been legalized in many regions of America, Girl Scout Cookies has been a popular selling strain for patients with all types of medical histories, conditions, and symptoms. Wonderful for relaxing and getting your head clear, GSC is continuing to sell out from dispensaries. It is known for its top-shelf qualities that have stoners, cannaisseurs and medical cannabis patients running back for more.

Best of all, Girl Scout Cookies is one of the most potent strains of marijuana flower available on the market, making it a brilliant solution for medical cannabis patients globally who are experiencing some of the difficult challenges of various medical conditions.

The Girl Scout Cookies strain is classified as a hybrid, with a 60% indica and 40% sativa genetic makeup. Its lineage hails from the mega-popular strains Durban Poison (a sativa) and OG Kush (a hybrid). The GSC buds grown and sent into labs for testing have shown results of a 17-28% THC content (rather high for a smoking strain), and a CBD content of 0.09-0.2% (low in CBD). When GSC is grown, variations of phenotypes in the genetics can occur, producing occasional batches of Platinum Cookies and Thin Mint (two related strains, closely tied to Girl Scout Cookies).

Originating from California, Girl Scout Cookies weed has now grown massively popular all over the world, selling out especially in dispensaries all over America.

Although it is not considered a supremely easy strain to grow, cultivators continue to produce large quantities of GSC, so that stoners and patients everywhere can keep rejoicing.

Girl Scout Cookies Aroma, Flavor and Appearance

One of the Girl Scout Cookies strain’s most notable attributes is its distinctive skunky, yet slightly minty aroma. From its earthy undertones that ground you and bring you back down to the planet, to its uplifting and sweet flavor that shoots you high into the clouds, GSC is a strain of pure bliss and magic, the perfect balance for any class of cannabis consumer.

Although some variations in appearance can occur, this strain is notoriously beautiful with its distinctive and bright green twisting and turning calyxes, bundled up with deep purple leaves and neon orange hairs. Girl Scout Cookies is a gorgeous strain to stare at, with its pleasant character always managing to brighten up the world.

Expect your first hit of GSC to be a sweet but heavy one, sending you through a whirlwind of pleasing and blissful emotions.

Girl Scout Cookies Strain Grow Info

Girl Scout Cookies is not known for being an easy to grow strain, yet it is not a very challenging strain either. In regards to difficulty, GSC sits somewhere in the middle. With the correct knowledge and research, it is totally possible to cultivate a dank batch of Girl Scout Cookies weed.

The flowering time for GSC is around 9-10 weeks, which is considered average length in relation to other strains. It is possible to grow this strain in either indoors or outdoors conditions, with outdoors only being possible in the proper climate- plenty of sunny warmth and Mediterranean-like qualities for the GSC to grow and flourish in.

If you choose to grow this weed outside, make sure your growing conditions are correct and expect harvest around mid-October. Indoors, this strain grows incredibly well using hydroponic methods. This reefer is reasonably pest and mold/mildew resistant, and has low to average desire for fertilizer, meaning that it should be fairly low maintenance to cultivate. Grown indoors, its height and size sit somewhere in the medium or average range, occasionally ending up a bit smaller than a majority of other cannabis types. However, fear not, this ganja packs a powerful punch, regardless of its smaller size and lower yield!

It will be easy to enjoy smoking GSC, for each plant typically yields up to 60 grams of fresh ripe cannabis during harvest. As long as you provide the Girl Scout Cookies strain with an adequate amount of water on a regular basis, and care for the plants as you normally would any other strain of weed, you should expect to have a delicious and hefty yield, that will produce a pungent yet relaxing high and out-of-this-world flavor.

Girl Scout Cookies Strain Effects

Girls Scout Cookies’s effects are capable of bringing so much diversity to the table. With its balanced qualities, representative of both sativa and indica strains, GSC is both uplifting yet relaxing, sending consumers into a blend of euphoric full-body high and a heady, cerebral and thought-provoking mood.

Expect this strain to be one of the best choices when needing a healthy dose of creative inspiration, or some hilariously uplifting and happy times, all while it melts away any problems you might be having, one hit at a time.

Although you can expect to have some surges in energy during your high-time process with Girl Scout Cookies, there will be periods of couch-lock and complete body melting. Due to this, GSC is probably not an ideal option for a wake and bake and is better saved for later in the day when you’re ready to chill out and unwind.

The high from smoking Girl Scout Cookies strain typically lasts for several hours, due to its potent THC content. This is good news for those desiring to get more bang for their buck.

Medical Benefits of the Girl Scout Cookies Strain

Although this strain won’t be able to provide medical cannabis patients many healing effects from its CBD content, its high THC levels compensate, bringing potent medicinal properties to patients who have tried this powerful weed.

GSC is an outstanding choice for assisting individuals suffering from a range of issues, including:

  • stress and depression
  • appetite loss and nausea
  • chronic and severe pain disorders
  • headaches or migraines

For those who are planning on consuming the Girl Scout Cookies strain for chronic or severe pain disorders, it is important to achieve the highest dose you can handle for your pain to truly be affected. Consuming an edible or concentrate made from GSC would likely be the best choice in this circumstance.

Additionally, patients handling appetite loss and nausea could benefit from edibles or concentrates, but also could get by with simply smoking a larger dose than is considered average of the Girl Scout Cookies strain.

If you are dealing with stress, depression or another mental disorder, smoking GSC is likely best. Edibles and concentrates are not ideal in this circumstance, because sometimes, too high of a dose of cannabis can only worsen these conditions. In this case, smoking a normal amount of GSC ensures the healing benefits work in your favor. Check out our article on microdosing weed for depression to learn more.

This magic strain features more capabilities than can be counted; a diverse and top-quality strain useable by all types of patients, stoners, cannaisseurs, and more.

Possible Side Effects of Girl Scout Cookies

The Girl Scout Cookies strain is probably one of the few strains that only has a couple of side effects for some consumers. The most commonly reported side effect for those who have enjoyed GSC, is dry mouth. This is easily manageable by drinking plenty of water while you are high, or another refreshing and thirst-quenching drink.

If you want your high to become a little more intense, drink some fresh-squeezed orange juice- the high levels of vitamin C will help to increase the levels of THC in your body, resulting in a heftier overall experience, while still keeping your body feeling hydrated. Some individuals that have regularly smoked this strain, have also reported experiencing mildly drier eyes, as well as fatigue when smoking too much; this fatigue could be likely due to GSC’s ability to couch-lock its consumer.

In order to avoid any possible side effects, it’s important to consider your limits and boundaries. Know how much of this marijuana you can handle, and don’t pass that amount unless you are willing to deal with any possible adverse effects. Most of all, make sure you have the munchies ready and plenty of water to drink; staying hydrated, healthy and happy is vital!

Final Thoughts on Girl Scout Cookies

Aside from sometimes challenging growing situations and a possibly average cultivation yield, the Girl Scout Cookies strain has been so world-renowned for a reason; this is due to its amazing quality and incredibly high THC content, plus its pleasantly sweet flavor and intoxicating aroma.

Starting small in the mountains of California where the strain was first created, GSC has now grown to be globally praised and desired, specifically in cities and towns all over the United States. Due to this, dispensaries are expected to continue supplying this mind-blowing strain with its powerful ability to help those struggling or dealing with various medical conditions and symptoms.

We hope you have enjoyed reading this Girl Scout Cookies strain review and found it to be both educational yet entertaining. It is important to remember that the consumption of cannabis is the sole responsibility of the user and discretion should be taken. Before consuming any cannabis it is important to understand the laws and restrictions in your state. Furthermore, it is essential that you discuss medical cannabis with your primary physician.

Oh, and one last thing! If you are looking for some of the highest THC strains on the market. Ones that will blow your mind, then you MUST check out these 5 High THC Strains.

If you’re a stoner, you’ve either heard of Girl Scout Cookies or tried this strain. It could be the most popular strain in the world being adored for its name and taste to match. It has many different phenotypes which have become more popular and even more sought after than the original strain. It’s a slightly indica-dominant hybrid, about 60% indica to 40% sativa. The balanced high, enjoyable effects and desireable taste (along with the nostalgic name) make GSC a cult classic.

GSC is as sweet as the cookie and adoreable as the seller, phot @glass_light_photo

The GSC Family: Platinum GSC & Thin Mint GSC

There are two main phenotypes which you need to be aware of when it comes to the GSC family: Thin Mint Cookies and Platinum Girl Scout Cookies. These are both what are known as #dankenstein strains, when a breeder takes already amazing strains and crossbreeds them to create something boutique/designer, and are more recent California creations. These strains are INSANELY exclusive and extremely hard to come by. You can only find them in Californian dispensaries or Amsterdam coffeeshops.

Thin Mint GSC & Platinum GSC Cost

The price of these phenotypes is a little crazy mainly because the seeds are practically impossible to come by. Your only hope is to stumble across clippings of the strain, though unlikely. If you happen to be in Amsterdam, a coffeehouse such as Green House Seed Co. might have these strains or know where to find them. They will be very expensive (around $40 a gram) so only consider this an option if you really want to try a boutique strain — and you should. They taste amazing and are incredibly potent — we say: worth it.

Girl Scout Cookies Strain Review

GSC, as it’s now known, is an indica-dominant cross between two legendary strains, OG Kush and Durban Poison. By crossing these two strains, Cookie Fam were able to raise the THC levels way beyond the normal rates for strains. The OG Kush parent is a classic, non-intrusive indica that is all about relaxing. The Durban Poison parent is an uplifiting and creative focus high that is directly passed on to GSC. This created a potent beast with a sweet taste and smell. With this taste and aroma, it’s no wonder where the name came from as the sweetness of this strain is undeniable. It was created on the West Coast and has balanced indica-dominant effects that are all about feeling good.

GSC Cost

Fortunately, this strain is pretty popular over in Amsterdam. A lot of coffeeshops stock this product, making it relatively cheap. Just make sure you go to respectable coffeeshops where you are guaranteed to get exactly what you buy. If you know it’s real and you’re therefore in a reasonably expensive coffeeshop, you’re looking at $13 per gram. In dispensaries in California these days it’s a mid-shelf strain, and would cost about $10 per gram, depending on availability.

THC Levels of GSC & Family

Interestingly enough, despite being more expensive and supposedly more potent, Thin Mint and Platinum Cookies only contain a maximum of 24% THC. GSC, on the other hand, can contain up to 28% THC. That’s way higher than your average indica. Price isn’t always based on THC level. The other two phenotypes are boutique, meaning in low supply and high demand, with incredible flavours and potency.

OG Kush Strain

OG Kush is the backbone of so many of the best and most creative West Coast strains, however, it has a mysterious past. Not much is known of the origins of OG Kush, but it always passes down its kushy taste and smells as well as its desirable indica effects to each of its heirs.

Durban Poison Strain

This is a South African landrace strain which is incredibly popular, and is the parent strain of some of the most famous strains in the cannabis community.

GSC Taste Profile

  • Sweet
  • Earthy
  • Floral
  • Candy
  • Potent

Thin Mint Adds to the Taste Profile

  • Mint
  • Extra sweet
  • Extra potency

Is GSC available in edibles, wax, shatter or oil?

Yes. As it’s a popular boutique strain, a lot of the vaporiser companies in the US will sell oils and shatters with this strain. Though, this strain is perfect for use through a flower vape because the taste is much more prominently cookie-like when vaped.

To make edibles simply decarboxylate your weed in the oven. To decarb, cook your bud in the oven on high heat (180C) for about 45 minutes to an hour. The weed should be brown and well-cooked which allows it to release its full THC potency. Then simply mix it into a fat like butter or coconut oil. This strain is very easy to find in the States and in Amsterdam.

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Roll it Smoke it Pass to the 👈 (@dreadheadstoner420) on Oct 1, 2018 at 10:46pm PDT

View this post on Instagram

✨🍪🍪#thinmintcookies #thinmintgsc 🍪🍪🍪✨#girlscoutcookies #cookies #cookiesstrain #exclusivegenetics #onlymembers #highsociety #420 #indoor #bcn #caliweed #california #california420 #cannabisclub #tricomes #terps #420life #cannabiscomunity #maryjane #privateclub #onlymembers #monodreambcnclub 🐒✨#socialclub #socialclubbcn

A post shared by Mono dream ✨🐒 (@monodream.cannabisclub) on Sep 6, 2018 at 4:50am PDT

Effects of GSC

GSC Effects

GSC Medical AK-47e Side Effects

Happy 100%

Stress Relief 100%

Cottonmouth 90%

Euphoric 80%

Depression 80%

Dry Eyes 60%

Relaxed 75%

Pain Relief 80%

Dizzy 40%

Uplifted 60%

Lack of appetite 50%

Headaches 35%

Hungry 50%

Insomnia 40%

Anxiety 10%

This strain is an indica-dominant hybrid, notorious for its perfectly balanced high. This may sound counterintuitive – a balanced high when rolling deep in an indica-dominant high? Well, with GSC, the effects of the traditional indica (body sluggishness, paranoia, euphoria, sleepiness, etc) are balanced by a strong cerebral high (alertness, anti-inflammation, relaxation, energy, etc) to give you the best of both worlds. Some hybrids take negative effects from their parents but GSC inherited all the good genes. The balance of indica and sativa in GSC play off each other giving you a pleasurable body high and a stimulating mind high — one of the many reasons she is a popular lady strain.

View this post on Instagram

#Cvndylvnd fly by. She finishes so nicely. #foxhollowflora #platinumgsc x #gdp #oregon #oregoncannabis #oregonsummer #nextg3ngreenhouse #wadsworth #SeedController #cannabis #cannabiscommunity #nectarfam #grateful

A post shared by Fox Hollow Flora (@foxhollowflora) on Jun 24, 2017 at 11:08am PDT

GSC Growing Tips

This strain grows best using the “sea of green” technique which is either a hydro or an indoor soil setup. This strain is definitely best to grow indoors for consistant temperature control because GSC hates the cold. Her flowering time is around 10 weeks which is pretty fast and makes her a favorite for quick yield turn arounds.

Girl Scout Cookies Yield

The yield of this strain is average. You can improve the yield of GSC if you have experienced trimming techniques which promote the growth of bigger buds.

Platinum Girl Scout Cookies Yield

The yield of this strain is also average, and growers can expect it to take around 8-9 weeks to grow. This is quite a short amount of time compared to other yields. Girl Scout Cookie just buds quickly. However, it will be incredibly hard to grow this strain in colder climates. Because GSC is a California girl, it will only be possible to grow her warmly inside except, of course, in California.

Girl Scout Cookie Seeds

As mentioned before, the seeds are hard to find. However, you could buy alternatives such as Royal Queen Seeds’ Royal Cookies, which is essentially a Girl Scout Cookies autoflowering strain, which is perfect for growers. The effects will be the same as Girl Scout Cookies, the only difference being that this is their creation from these two strains, instead of the original crossing.

Girl Scout Cookies Overiew

The Girl Scout Cookies strain is better known as GSC (for legal reasons). She is a very potent indica-dominant strain testing in at 28% THC. She has three famous phenotypes: the original GSC, Thin Mints and Platinum. GSC is well-known and well-loved among the cannabis community everywhere. She has gotten around with her sweet and inticing flavour — who wouldn’t want some of those delicious and adorable Girl Scout Cookies?

Too stoned to read the review? Watch this one instead.

Have you had GSC? Tell us your experience in the comments below.

The Great Girl Scout Cookie Scam

jenkaplanFollow Feb 2, 2019 · 3 min read

By Jennifer Kaplan, Former Girl Scout Troop Leader and Troop Cookie Chair for Troop #33533 in Berkeley, CA

Last week, Girl Scouts across America unfolded their tables, brought out their red wagons and began selling Girl Scout cookies. For many parents, it was a day of dread.

Every year, for six weekends starting in February, or GO! Day in Girl Scout parlance, we adults are expected to perform the same tedious duty. As our girls hawk cookies, we drink Starbucks, lurk far enough away to provide autonomy but close enough to stand guard over the money box.

To understand the phenomenon of the Girl Scout cookies, you need to go back to 1936 when a the Girl Scouts first licensed commercial bakers. 125 troops launched cookie sales that year and an American “tradition” was born. Today the Girl Scouts are “2.7 million strong” which includes 800,000 adults (yes, each troop has to have a few dues-paying adult members) and 1.9 million girls from ages five to seventeen. Each year more than 1 million girls, and an untold number of adults, are roped into the “tradition” and that makes the selling of Girl Scout cookies a bonafide racket.

Who can blame them? The Girl Scout Cookie Program is big business, worth about $800 million in annual sales. This year, one box of Girl Scout cookies costs five bucks. Of that fiver, only 75 cents, or 15%, goes to my daughter’s troop. About 5%, a couple of pennies, goes to our regional organization, called a service unit. One dollar, 20%, goes to cost of goods sold. And, a whopping $2.99, or 60%, goes back to Girl Scouts National for “programs and support.” That’s an enviable profit margin, especially since cookies are sold exclusively by a pint-sized sales force with an army of volunteer sales managers in tow.

A typical consumer packaged goods company hires thousands of part-time merchandisers to stock shelves, set up displays and conduct inventories in retail stores. They spend resources on managing their salesforce, servicing accounts and conducting activities that are otherwise required to run a $800 million business. The Girl Scouts limit their exposure in all sorts of ways. Scouts pre-order their cookies. Returns (full cases only, please) must be processed three weeks before the stop date. Volunteers manage, store and distribute cookies out of their garages (“cookie cupboards”). Then there are the cookie “shortages.” Just last year there was national Thin Mint shortage that made cookie cupboard pick-ups look like a Walmart on Black Friday.

Is it worthwhile to allow our daughters to sell Girl Scout cookies? For that we turn to the award-winning marketing campaigns devised by advertising scions like Edelman and the Wildflower Group. All year we are bombarded with reminders and “reward and recognition” opportunities (top sellers can earn tickets to an overnight event at Levi’s Stadium or a trip to Disneyland). The program even comes with its own jargon (GO! Day, cookie cupboard and Tagalong are the language of an exclusive sorority). The cookie program promotes “5 Skills for Girls” and is presented in toolkits, booklets, handouts, videos, posters, bookmarks and downloadable certificates. These slick collateral materials tell us that our hours of selling are not akin to sweatshop labor but rather provide good lessons in goal setting, decision making, money management, public speaking, and business ethics. Surely, there is an easier way. In fact, the Girl Scouts have badges, like “Business Owner” and “Financing My Future” that teach those skills and can be earned in a fraction of the time.

We have only ourselves to blame. We happily provide ourselves and our girls to the Girl Scouts for labor, and even pay them for the privilege. We work for free and our girls work on commission so meager and with a return policy so strict that girls often end up literally eating the cost of their leftover inventory. May I never see another box of Trefoils (shortbread cookies for those not familiar with our secret language) although there are sure to be a few boxes leftover in March. The way I see it, the Girl Scouts are running a genius $800 million business made possible through unseemly profit margins, restrictive return policies and the benefit of not having to hire any salespeople. You can’t really blame them. It’s pretty sweet.

Related Stories

Documents obtained by MuckRock concerning complaints made about the Girl Scouts of the United States of America to the Federal Trade Commission offer an intriguing case study in the variety of kvetching humans are capable of.

The majority of the complaints made to the FTC aren’t actually about the Girl Scouts – instead, they reflect the increasing prevalence of scammers changing their Caller ID and the seemingly popular trend of impersonating Girl Scouts leadership.

A YEAR AGO OUR CHILD SENT A SHOEBOX THROUGH GOOD SAMARITAN WITH GIRL SCOUTS. IT HAD MISC THINGS IN IT FOR A CHILD. I BELIVE THIS IS THE GIFT BOX REFERENCED. THE LETTER MY DAUGHTER, AGE 12, RECEIVED IS DISTURBING & REQUEST CASH BEFORE CHRISTMAS. WE HAVE NO INTENTION OF SENDING ANYTHING.

The ones that are actually about the Girl Scouts primarily concern missing patches and botched cookie orders.

I have not received any patches owed to my daughter or any refund. It is incredible that the Girl Scout mission: Girl scouting build girls of courage, confidence, and character. How can this be done, if leaders are stealing from the girls and parents? THIS IS NOT THE FIRST SITUATION/INCIDENT WITH THIS GIRL SCOUT LEADER, BUT OTHER PARENTS AND CO-LEADER HAVE NEVER STATED ANYTHING ABOUT HER PRACTICE. I WILL NOT ALLOW A GIRL SCOUT LEADER TO TREAT MY DAUGHTER THIS WAY! STEALING IS NOT SOMETHING WE TEACH OUR GIRLS. Especially since the Girl Scouts are suing Boy Scouts over a name change. ‘ We applaud every organization that builds character and leadership in children, including the Girl Scouts of the USA’…Girl Scouts statement. Then why are we allowing Girl Scouts leader to steal from our Girls!

My daughter is in Troop b(6) of Girl Scouts of Gulfcoast Florida. This year was her first year as a Girl Scout Daisy. My daughter is one of the girls who was out in the sun and cold nights selling cookies during the cookies sales for Girl Scouts under the promise of raising money to be able to go on fun activities and trips. Recently, in a parent meeting us parents have just been informed this will not be happening because money is missing from the funds and council will not be awarding the girls for all their hard work and exploitation. Co-leader who was handling all the money quit and refuses to provide proof of payments provided by parents, myself in particular. Leader has said she has tried to reach out to council but nothing is being done. I cannot speak for other parents but I feel as though my daughter, a minor, was exploited in child labor. I need an answer now.

On Jan. 29, 2016 I placed an online order via a Girl Scout page for four boxes of Thin Mints, two boxes of Tagalon, and two boxes of Do-si-Dos. Total: $32.00 Order # (b(6) from a Scout named (b(6). Four weeks after online order, I inquired about how long order actually takes from local Troops selling cookies. The universal answer was within two weeks. As of April 8th, 2016 I have officially waited ten weeks, the max delivery time. I have not received any phone calls nor received any emails from Local Girl Scout Leader, having exhausted myself on emailing Customer Service (online) for the last three weeks. I was told to keep waiting on order, at time of my emails it had not reached the ten week delivery mark. Well…I have waited and now would like a full refund of money. I’m unsure if my cookies were sold or eaten by someone else. Whatever the case might be, I NEVER received a product that was promised at the time of payment. I filed a second complaint via Girl Scouts website though I am certain it will be seemingly brushed off, as was like my initial complaint.

The others are just odd.

What “we” are reporting here is NOT telephone and/or internet fraud per se. Rather on Sunday March 6th, 2016 we visited a Giant Eagle in Washibngton Pennsylvania-USA-and something strange happened-that has never happened to “us” before. A stocky-scrappy looking gentleman with pale-Hispanic skin wearing a red-Alice-band-like-bandana APPEARED TO DELIBERATELY follow us out of the store-once we had finished shopping+paid+were exiting the store and APPEARED ON PURPOSE to drop DIRECTLY ONTO OUR FOOT PATHTHERE WAS NO MISTAKING HOW DELIBERATE THIS ALL WAS-THROWING WHAT LOOKED like a wad of paper-with gum stuck in the middle-some OTHER “subtsance?” stuck onto the paper. The girl scouts and their chaperon’s were near the front of the store. Seeing “a gentleman” like this young man “reminded” “us” that it’s RARE for person “fitting this description” to shop there-and added to that there was a girl with dark hair flowing down to her waist-beautifully-kept hair-no split ends etc. talking dressed in sweats+talking on her cell ‘phone-who appeared in some way CONNECTED with the person throwing paper near our feet. This MIGHT sound “strange” but “we” have shopped at this store for more than a full decade-and perhaps its the time of day of our “usual” shopping and/or the DAY OF THE WEEK – writing this report MADE us “realize” that MOST shoppers at Giant Eag;e of Washiongton PA are elderly and/or NON-elderly women shopping ALONE and/or NON-elderly MEN shopping alone and/or grandmothers with daughters and grandkids – VERY FAMILY-oriented – which made the two we are describing here STAND OUT to us. We HOPE it’s NOTHING BAD BUT we heard on a local CBS news affiliate that a downtown Pittsburgh business-store-owner’s ENTIRE BUSINESS PLAN consisted of going to Amazon.com online-“seeing” the top-sellers and co-ercing drug-offenders to STEAL the TOP-SELLING-AMAZON-PRODUCRS “to order” so to speak and after that re-selling the stolen items ON AMAZON online. According to the CBS news report that we viewed this “scheme” had been going on for YEARS and netting the downtown business “owner” approximately 22 MILLION U$A dollar$ per year. According to the news report the kingpin has been caught+charged with his crime etc. but it HAD been “going on” – for YEARS The massive thefts had been taking place in area Wal-Mart stores in area Giant Eagle stores – and other places as well – according to The CBS tv news report.

I would like a full refund. so I can go see mickey on my own.

on the request page, and remember…

It’s a great time to join Girl Scouts of SE MI! Learn more at the Family Info Night near you

Image by Petty Officer 2nd Class Maddelin Angebrand via Wikimedia Commons

Girl Scout Cookies are a Fraud

Girl Scouts selling cookies is a fraud and for numerous reasons.

  1. To point out the obvious, the children do not get paid to sell the cookies and thus are volunteers. 2. They sell 200M boxes of cookies which is around $800M/year in revenue. Where exactly does that money go? https://www.vox.com/the-goods/2019/1/24/18195824/girl-scout-cookies-explained-thin-mints-buy. The Vox article lists a breakdown of the where the revenue goes but if you look at an annual report it doesn’t explicitly say Cookie sales and I believe it only lists the allocation’s to councils. By the way, Girl Scout Cookies are the top selling cookie in the USA. Publicly traded companies don’t even sell this many cookies.

  2. On their website, they list the benefits of selling cookies and it essentially pushes “learning entrepreneurship” more than anything else. Under the K-1st Graders section the mention “Count It Up” and “Talk it Up” which is bizarre language.

  3. Their buildings are effing massive and it is mainly funded by cookie sales.

  4. They preach entrepreneurship but don’t give the older scouts any royalties. National HQ receives royalties for licensing however.

It is essentially an $800M business propped up by the hard work of young girls who aren’t getting paid (although volunteering) and harping on the entrepreneurship skills where there is no tangible benefit. Executive team gets huge salaries, however.

Edit: 200M boxes not dollars.

Girl Scout cookies are a brilliant enterprise in obligated indulgence, an economic model built upon a two-pronged plan of attack:

1) Melt the callous exterior of the unwitting consumer with the adorable faces of girl scouts.
2) Strike with a multi-dimensional cookie assault that’s hard to pin down to one category.

In truth, there is no “best” Girl Scout cookie. Or rather, there really shouldn’t be. The existential dilemma that comes with each and every cookie order stems from the fact that it’s so hard to choose which cookies to get.

Sure, maybe Thin Mints or Samoas are your favorite. But you should probably get one more. Do-Si-Dos or Tagalongs? Aw hell, get both. Oh crap, what are Savannah Smiles? Are those new? Might as well get those while you’re there.

Before you know what hit you, you’ve now purchased four boxes of cookies (containing the caloric capacity to feed a village in Chad for a week) that you’re not really sure what to do with.

Well, you’ve already got the cookies, might as well eat them. And you’ve now become part of the Cookie Machine.

Girl Scout Cookies

The conventional Girl Scout Cookie batting order is thankful devoid of the standard chocolate chip and Oreo creme-style cookies (probably the two most popular types of cookies in the country), as they would ruin the widely accepted competitive balance.

There are many favorites, but little pure consensus when it comes to the Cookie Machine. That’s because the cookies so often come with personal attachment, and begin to cross into that blurred line that separates “favorite” from “best.”

It’s that box of Samoas that mom brings home from the office — half-eaten after a long day — that she needs to pry herself away from, so she tosses them to the kids to finish off. It’s that box of Tagalongs that you open on the kitchen table when your sister’s not looking, not knowing that she’d already sold that box to the neighbor. It’s those boxes of Thin Mints, year after year, that seemed endless, and always held a second sleeve.

More often than not, the “favorite” Girl Scout Cookie is also the original cookie for lots of folks, the one that they latched on to early and stayed loyal to.

It’s with this in mind that, when it comes to Girl Scout Cookies, it rarely comes down to a discussion of which one is the tastiest. No one cares. It’s about which cookie is best. It’s not just any Girl Scout Cookie, it’s your Girl Scout Cookie, and you will not sit idly when someone has the audacity to besmirch its cookie honor.

With that in mind, I will now commence the besmirchment.

So how do they rank?

7. Rah-Rah Raisin – OK, let’s talk about this box. It’s tiny, and gives you only one sleeve of cookies. Listen, Rah-Rah Raisin, if you’re going to show up on the Girl Scout Cookie block trying to edge your way in as a cookie contender, you’ve gotta bring at least two sleeves, not this tiny pink box crap.

That’s even before getting to the cookie itself. Oatmeal Raisin is a perfectly fine cookie that will always suffer from the fact that, from a distance, it can be mistaken as chocolate chip — a superior cookie in every way.

In actually trying the cookie, you’ll find that it’s not as chewy as one would like in an oatmeal raisin, but still got some nice oat-y and raisin flavor. There’s a crumbly texture kind of like a Chips Ahoy. It tastes very much like a boxed cookie.

Editor’s note: They do kind of taste like drywall.

6, Trefoils – Here’s the thing, the Trefoils are a decent cookie. They’ve got that buttery shortbread taste but not quite as crumbly. It’s not as rich or sweet, as likely is preferred, but isn’t quite as messy either.

Trefoils could be interesting, but they’re not. They’re the Mitt Romney of Girl Scout Cookies. There’s not much to criticize about them. It’s just really difficult to get super excited about a boring version of what’s already a boring type of cookie.

5. Do-Si-Dos – These remind me of those cheap peanut butter cracker sandwiches, but sweeter. There’s a nice patty of peanut butter inside, resulting in that thick ol’ mess in your mouth, which to you is either a good or bad thing, depending on your peanut butter preferences.

Do-Si-Dos are pretty good, but have no replay value. With some cookies, you eat one and want to binge the hell out of them. I’ve rarely been compelled to gorge myself on Do-Si-Dos. They have a low ceiling, like listening to a Phillip Phillips song. Sure, it was nice that one time, but then you’re never excited it hear “Home” again.

4. Savannah Smiles – I’m angry at this cookie, and not even because it’s bad. I would actually prefer that this cookie could be terrible, just so I could throw them at my co-workers to annoy them.

I’m angry at this cookie like a teacher watching a talented student putz his or her way through school. “You could go to college, Savannah Smiles. You just need to apply yourself!”

At first glance, it looks like another cookie misfit. They’re crunchy. They’re covered in this dumb layer of powdered sugar. They also explode in your mouth like a bag of flour bursting open on the floor.

But they’re kind of good.

If you pop the whole thing in your mouth, contain the blast zone, and get past that lemony tartness, there’s this really nice lemon/citrus/buttery sweetness that makes you want to grab another one. And then your hands get coated in powdered sugar again.

3. Samoas – Oh Samoas, we’ll forever be at odds.

The texture of this cookie is the best, with the caramel chewiness holding it all together, that nice chocolate sweetness, that crunch — good stuff.

But then there’s that coconut. I hate coconut. I don’t understand the appeal. It’s like Pitbull: It comes from the tropics, shows up in random places where it doesn’t belong and ruins otherwise decent music/cookies (OK fine, there was no saving “Timber.”)

However, Samoas gets a solid bump because I know I’m weird on coconut. If you like coconut, then this is your cookie. However, that doesn’t excuse the fact that you only get 15 in a box.

2. Tagalongs – It is here that all logic goes out the window. I stand here ready to defend Tagalongs to the bitter end. I feel the same way about Tagalongs that I do about Taco Bell. Is it great? No. Is it good? In spots. How do I respond to people that talk smack about it? Fisticuffs.

Tagalongs are OK. The chocolate is actually pretty weak, with the peanut butter taking everything over, very rich and chewy once the full thing gets going.

But it’s not the taste that makes these great, it’s the texture and open-ended nature of the cookie.

The dual-layered soft-crunchy texture makes this the Cheesy Gordita Crunch of cookies. I’m a sucker for things that have a crunchy thing wrapped inside of a soft thing. It’s the reason that I’m such a proponent of the toast sandwich. That peanut butter-to-cookie crunch is divine.

Eating a Tagalong is a lot like eating a Pop-Tart or Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup, open for interpretation and creativity (I eat Pop-Tarts like a crazy person). It’s like a cookie Rorshach Test. Do you just bite down on it? Do you try to isolate the peanut butter warhead from the rest of the chocolate covered package? Does the peanut butter go on top or on the bottom when you bite down? (The bottom. Always the bottom.) Tagalongs are a cookie playground.

1. Thin Mints – There’s no touching the flavor of Thin Mints, with that cool chocolate/mint flavor (like an Andes mint) on point. Thin Mints also have the best texture, short of Samoa, with the body of the cookie being made up of a million little layers, resulting in an awesome wafery flakiness.

Those are great. But what makes Thin Mints the greatest cookie is the staying power. After you eat one Samoa or Tagalong, you need to stay mindful of the box’s 15-cookie capacity. For Thin Mints, there’s always that extra sleeve.

Thin Mints are meant to be gorged. I don’t have the box on me, but I’m pretty sure a serving size is “one tower of cookies.” Eating other cookies is nice. Eating Thin Mints is an escape, a trip into your personal chocolate-and-mint Narnia.

Afterglow

Have you ever been properly satisfied with the amount of Girl Scout Cookies you’ve eaten? Me neither. Afterglow grade: One Hungry Hungry Hippos commercial.

The Final Word

When my bias against coconut became open knowledge in the office, my cookie-ranking credentials were immediately called into question (I’m surprised it took so long). As a result, we opened it up to an office poll (more on that in a bit).

One 6 oz. box of costs around $3.75
A 5 cookie serving (30g) contains 140 calories, 45 of them being from fat, 5g of total fat, 1.5g of saturated fat. 0g of trans fat, 1.5g of polyunsaturated fat, 1g of monounsaturated fat, 0mg of cholesterol, 125mg of sodium, 23g of total carbohydrates, 0g of dietary fiber, 10g of sugar, and 1g of protein.

So, I knew these Savannah Smiles were supposed to be lemony, but OH DANG! Are these things tangy! Like, super tangy. Don’t get me wrong, they are sweet as well, but the zest of lemon comes out first and foremost in these small cookies. At least 90% of the lemon flavor comes from the powdered sugar, which is very thick and spread on quite generously- which may explain why these things have so much lemony zing to them. Yeah, the lemon flavor is tart and tangy- you would think these cookies wouldn’t be any tangier than the Girl Scouts’ Lemonade cookies themselves, but lo and behold, they are.
The cookie part taking protection underneath the thick powdered sugar layer is pale yellow in color and sweet, like Girl Scouts’ Shortbread. The actual cookie component was really crunchy- I even thought it could’ve passed for a biscotto! But- like biscotti as well -these cookies were fairly airy on the inside.

Well, if I had to say anything about these Savannah Smiles right away, it’d be that they’re rather unique. Kinda in a good way, kinda in a bad way. I mean, it doesn’t help the creamy texture of the powdered sugar and the crunchy texture of the cookies are so at odds with one another, but then you have the super tartness of the powdered sugar topping combining with the sweet, mildness of the cookies- if you could call it combining. But after a couple of cookies, the taste didn’t remain as such a shock to me, and I was able to enjoy these Smiles reasonably well. I believe these are a cookies for the serious lemon fan, however- not just anybody looking for a good cookie. You really have to enjoy lemon bars, and tart ‘n tangy desserts, and lots of powdered sugar, and all that stuff. But if that description sounds like you, then I’d say, “try these cookies out!” I wouldn’t buy these again- they were just waaaay too lemony and weird for this girl.
I’d give Girl Scouts’ Savannah Smiles a 6/10.
Which Girl Scouts cookie should be reviewed next? Let us know in the comments below!
Till’ then, this has been RiRi ri-porting!

There’s a Brand New Lemon Girl Scout Cookie for the 2020 Season

Girl Scout cookie season is almost upon us, which means a few things: 1) the debate between Do-Si-Dos and Tagalongs for peanut butter cookie supremacy will start up again, 2) I will eat entire boxes of Samoas with little to no shame, and 3) Girl Scouts will debut yet another lemon cookie. For 2020, Savannah Smiles, the powder sugar-dusted lemon cookies that debuted in 2012, are being retired and replaced by new lemon cookies called Lemon-Ups.

Girl Scouts of the USA unveiled the new cookies on Tuesday, officially ushering in the 2020 Girl Scout cookie-eating season. The organization describes Lemon-Ups as crispy lemon-flavored cookies featuring a coating of sweet lemon on the bottom. Each cookie sports a supportive message inspired by Girl Scout entrepreneurs, like “I am a go-getter” and “I am an innovator.”

“GSUSA works closely with its licensed bakers to replace cookies and bring new ones into the mix based on sales, flavor trends, and consumer preferences. The timeline for introducing new Girl Scout Cookies varies, but in the past 10 years we’ve had exciting new cookie news to share every 1-2 years,” a spokesperson for GSUSA told Thrillist. Most recently, that includes the introduction of the Girl Scout S’mores sandwich cookie and a caramel chocolate chip cookie.

Girl Scouts of the USA couldn’t explain exactly why the lemon-flavored cookies in its lineup seem to be replaced most frequently. Prior to Savannah Smiles being exiled, Lemon Chalet Cremes were axed in 2010. The spokesperson, however, did share that “in partnership with our bakers, GSUSA starts by doing a market assessment and looking into flavors that could be popular or trending with consumers,” which we can only assume means that consumers want lemon cookies, they just also want to be excited by new offerings.

Though I personally was a huge fan of the Savannah Smiles, I’m excited to also get a box of Lemon-Ups from my niece. After all, as GSUSA CEO Sylvia Acevedo said in a press release, “Everyone loves Girl Scout Cookies — but the program is about so much more than cookies.”

Yup. It’s about hustling from a very young age — so support the little entrepreneurs and cookie slingers in your life and begrudgingly buy some Lemon-Ups from your co-worker’s daughter.